New HANS device info

RacerGeek

New HANS device info

Post by RacerGeek »

Information on new HANS devices and pricing from PRI was posted at ApexSpeed.com. Now you can get a new HANS for less than a set of tires.

[ external image ]

[ external image ]
Bob VanDyke
JimR

Re: New HANS device info

Post by JimR »

I read somewhere that this device is a half a pound heavier than the carbon composite unit.

While I found a used Hans last year at a good price, I would expect that this $695.00 model is not suitable for FV as the angle is likely wrong. From my perspective I have an issue with a 20 degree unit at one price and having to pay a couple hundred bucks more for a 30 degree model. Hans also is outrageous for parts and they don't believe in free trade as they price lock their suppliers. I value their product but I don't have to like the way they do business.

Jim
RacerGeek

Post by RacerGeek »

Jim,

All valid points, but the one poster says that the prices are now for all angles and all sizes. Here is what was posted on ApexSpeed.

Hans did have the new Sport Series $695 Hans device at PRI.

This weighs approx 2 oz more than the Extra Series model.

It will not be available until Jan 2008.

The initial production run will be for all sizes of the 20 degree model. The 30 degree will follow, no 40 degree models are planned for the Sport Series.

Hans has announced new pricing for the other models. $895 for the Extra Series, and $1,295 for the Pro. The Pro is substantially lighter than the Extra model.

When you consider that 30 degree models used to be around $1100, adding 2 ounces to save $400 is a worthwhile trade off that puts it at a price that is easier for an amatuer racer to justify. Like you, I purchased one used last year and had it retro-certified. I found the people at HANS to be very easy to deal with and while the prices were not cheap, there was a one day turn-around and the quality of what I received was very high. I would recommend them to anyone.