New FV wannabe looking to crew

jphoenix

New FV wannabe looking to crew

Post by jphoenix »

Hi everyone, I'm a formula car wannabe this year, working corners at Pacific Raceways and deciding what class I want to buy into. I'm drawn mightily to FV as I've no road racing experience and it appears to be, for all of the reasons mentioned in this forum and elsewhere, a good place to start and maybe stay, who knows. I have taken the SCCA PDX course in my Lotus Esprit, so I know for sure I want to race - but not the Esprit.

After flagging for three race weekends, Majors over Memorial Day, SOVREN a couple of weeks ago and now IRDC, I think I'd like to crew for an FV driver to get an idea of the various kinds of cars, setup, etc. I'm an aircraft mechanic and have restored many cars (and aircraft) in my past, have excellent fabrication skills, right at home behind a lathe or mill and lots of sheetmetal and composite experience, and I can weld thin wall 4130 gas or TIG. I'm 57 and spent the last thirty years flying (and restoring) competition sailplanes and have now decided to pursue my long-time passion of open wheel racing. I read Jim Schings book and talked with a few FV (and FF, FB, FM) drivers and I'd like to get some more exposure to the race car side of racing.

I'm available any race weekend in the PNW to help out in any way, haul fuel, make sandwiches, open beer bottles, walk the dog, load heavy objects, etc. I've got plenty of my own tools, etc. and would be happy to work on the car between race weekends to learn even more. I'm not ready to buy a car yet, still deciding which of the FV classes to jump into (FV, Vintage, FST). I plan to buy a car in dead of Seattle winter or early spring. Then do driving school in early spring, etc.

Any leads or advice greatly appreciated.

Jim Phoenix
jphoenix13@me.com
Bonney Lake, WA
Jim Phoenix
2016 Red Mercury FV 44
brian

Re: New FV wannabe looking to crew

Post by brian »