Roger
Orlando, Fl
car-less now

I have a VERY understanding Wife.
hardingfv32-1

Re: Brazil VW Pistons & Cylinders

Post by hardingfv32-1 »

They are fine.

Are you still trying to do this yourself? Do you have access to a dyno to test if you did the job correctly? Are you a good engine mechanic? Do you have a race engine shop that will do the necessary machining for you on an air cooled VW?

Brian
1969zeitler

Post by 1969zeitler »

I guess I don't understand the feeling by some people on this board that individuals can not build a motor correctly. You don't know me. You have no idea what I have done or can do. And, you did not bother to ask. I have been building engines since 1968 and not street engines but drag racing, road course and off-road. I have built many VW engines over that time. The parts that need external work, I farm out to machine shops that I trust, regardless if they are for a Small Block Chevy or a VW. Balancing and lightening on my motor will be done by SR and Dietmar. Putting the engine together will be done by me in my shop.

To say that the engine builders build perfect engines that never have problems is flat out wrong. I am sure they stand behind their work and would make it good for the buyer but stuff happens even to the best of them.

Is there no one here who puts their own engines together?

To answer your question, Yes, I am building my own engine and I am proud of it. thank you for asking.
Roger
Orlando, Fl
car-less now

I have a VERY understanding Wife.
fvracer27

Post by fvracer27 »

Wow.... in other post you are asking questions on how to make power and now your a professional engine builder?
Mark Filip
NER #27
Womer EV-3
bobc

Post by bobc »

I have rebuilt my race engine several times as it needs it. I have also taken my transmission apart and rebuilt it with new syncroes. I have built many engines in my life but I do it as a hobby and to save money on my car repairs.
brian

Post by brian »