Log book???

jaymzz

Log book???

Post by jaymzz »

I am completely new to the vee world, and anything but drag racing. I am trying to figure everything out about my car and what I need to do to make it SCCA compliant. But one of the areas I am having trouble with is the log book. I have searched for info, and not really coming up with to much. The log book that came with the car doesn't have much in it at all. I am not sure if I am reading the SCCA website correctly. It says something about a Homologation. What is it? Do I pay them and send in the form and they come and inspect it? Here is the site I am looking at. http://www.scca.com/contentpage.aspx?content=79#3

If the manufactures identification that is on the main hoop has been welded over and not readable, will I have issues with SCCA? The log book does not have any of that info in it. It just has a little info about the hoop size and what class it's in. I am sorry if this has been asked before. I am just trying to learn and figure out my car.
jpetillo

Re: Log book???

Post by jpetillo »

There are many folks on this list that have been with SCCA for quite some time and can answer your questions more completely. Yes, the log books don't really say much, and my latest logbook issued just this year doesn't have all the blanks filled in - like for the first two pages. However, the ID number of the car should be on the front cover of the book (this is the case for my log books, which are 1991 and newer). That number should be on the rollbar. It can be very faint and may have a few coats of paint on it. Mine was so hard to read through the paint that I could only decipher it after reading the number off the log book. So, maybe just look closer. Good luck, John
Matt King

Post by Matt King »